France must remain neutral on Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, says Turkish Defense Minister 

  26 November 2020    Read: 348
France must remain neutral on Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, says Turkish Defense Minister 

France must remain neutral regarding the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict as a co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group, said Turkish National Defense Minister Hulusi Akar while commenting on the French Senate's resolution, reports.

Hulusi Akar stated that the decision of the French Senate is a clear indication of why the Karabakh problem has not been resolved for 30 years.

"At the same time, it showed once again that France is part of the problem, not the solution", he added.

On November 25, the French Senate adopted a biased resolution calling on the French government to recognize the so-called 'republic' in the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan.

On November 18, at the Presidium of the French Senate, a group of senators influenced by the Armenian diaspora presented a draft resolution No. 145 "On the need to recognize the "Nagorno-Karabakh Republic", which was discussed and adopted on November 25.

The resolution came forward following Azerbaijan successfully liberating its territories previously occupied by Armenian Armed Forces.

Following over a month of military action to liberate its territories from Armenian occupation, Azerbaijan has pushed Armenia to sign the surrender document. A joint statement on the matter was made by Azerbaijani president, Armenia's PM and the president of Russia.

A complete ceasefire and a cessation of all hostilities in the zone of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is introduced at 00:00 hours (Moscow time) on November 10.

Under the agreement, a total of 1,960 Russian peacekeepers were deployed in Nagorno-Karabakh under a five-year mandate.

According to the agreement, on November 25, Armenia handed over the Kelbajar region which lies to the northwest of Nagorno-Karabakh, to Azerbaijan. On November 20, the Aghdam region was handed over to Azerbaijan. 

Finally, on 1 December, Armenia will hand over the Lachin District.

More about: