Azerbaijan's NGOs appeals to German FM on Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict

  08 October 2020    Read: 676

The NGOs of Azerbaijan appealed to Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs of Germany Hayko Maas his statement regarding the Armenia-Azerbaijan Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, reports. 

We, the NGOs of Azerbaijan, would like to stress that the recent statement Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs of Germany Mr. Hayko Maas at the German Bundestag, calling for a unilateral ceasefire of Azerbaijan and to put pressure on our country was met with deep concern and disappointment among the Azerbaijani public.

As known, since September 27, 2020, Armenia, in gross violation of the ceasefire, has launched large-scale military operations in order to occupy new territories of Azerbaijan. As a result of Armenia's military aggression, Azerbaijan's civilian population, strategic industrial facilities, including the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan oil pipeline, which plays a key role in Europe's energy security, and major cities located hundreds of kilometres away from the conflict zone are under rocket fire of Armenia. In the past two weeks, Armenia has deliberately killed 32 innocent Azerbaijani civilians and wounded 165, destroying more than 1,000 homes and civilian infrastructures, using long-range missiles and artillery in gross violation of international humanitarian law and the 1949 Geneva Conventions.

We firmly believe that Germany, as a member of the OSCE Minsk Group and the country playing an important role in ensuring peace and security in Europe and the world, must respect the decisions and resolutions adopted in different years by the UN Security Council, PACE, the European Parliament and the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, as well as the German Bundestag, unequivocally supporting the territorial integrity, sovereignty and inviolability of the internationally recognized borders of Azerbaijan and should strongly condemn the failure of the occupying Armenia to comply with these demands.

With this in mind, we urge Germany, which also adopted the above-mentioned documents, to support the settlement of the Armenia-Azerbaijan conflict within the norms and principles of international law, including the territorial integrity, sovereignty and inviolability of the internationally recognized borders of the Republic of Azerbaijan and, in order to restore ceasefire and peace in the region, to demand Armenia’s immediate, complete and unconditional withdrawal from our occupied territories.

We hope that Germany, as always, will continue to maintain its principled position in accordance with objectivity and international law.

Signed by the 45 NGOs of Azerbaijan:

1. Mr. Rauf Zeyni - National NGO Forum of Azerbaijan;
2. Mr. Sabit Baghirov – Foundation for the Promotion of Entrepreneurship and Market Economy;
3. Mr. Umud Mirzayev – International Eurasia Press Fund;
4. Mr. Alimammad Nuriyev - “Constitution” Research Fund;
5. Mr. Sahib Mammadov - Citizens' Labor Rights Protection League;
6. Ms. Novela Jafarova – Society for Protection of Women Rights named after Dilara Aliyeva;
7. Ms. Saadat Bananyarli - Azerbaijan National Section of International Society for Human Rights Public Union;
8. Ms. Saltanat Gojamanli - “Public Union for the Protection of Human Rights and Law Order”;
9. Gorkhmaz Ibrahimli – “Biosphere” Public Union;
10. Mr. Avaz Hasanov - Humanitarian Research Public Union;
11. Mr. Aziz Alakbarov - Azerbaijan Refugee Society Public Union;
12. Mr. Israyil Isgandarov - “Umid” Support for Social Development Public Union;
13. Mr. Vugar Bayramov – “Center for Economic and Social Development” Public Union;
14. Mr. Chingiz Ganizade - “Democracy and Human Rights Committee”;
15. Mr. Maharram Zulfugarli - Association for the Research of Social Problems;
16. Mr. Kamil Salimov - Prison Watch Public Association;
17. Mr. Fuad Mammadov – “Simurg” Azerbaijan Cultural Association;
18. Mr. Eyyub Huseynov – Independent Consumer Union;
19. Ms. Tanzila Rustamkhanli – “Azeri-Turk” Women’s Union;
20. Ms. Mirvari Gahramanova - Oil Workers Rights Protection Public Union;
21. Mr. Shamistan Alizamanli - “Support for the Promotion of Patriotism” Public Union;
22. Mr. Akif Naghi - Karabakh Liberation Organization;
23. Mr. Osman Gunduz - “Multimedia” Information Systems and Technologies Center;
24. Mr. Mayis Aliyev - "Investigation of Social Rights" Public Union;
25. Ms. Irada Rizazade - Public Association “Social Welfare for the Citizens”;
26. Ms. Bahar Gasimova - Republican Women's Society;
27. Ms. Malahat Ibrahimgizi - "Leader Women" Public Union;
28. Mr. Fuzuli Rzaguliyev - Public Union of the Azerbaijani Veterans of the Patriotic War;
29. Mr. Mehdi Mehdiyev – “Karabakh war disabled, veterans and families of martyrs" Public Union;
30. Ms. Mehriban Zeynalova - “Clean World” Aid to Women Public Union;
31. Mr. Ahmad Abbasbeyli - Development of Society and Civil Relations Public Union;
32. Mr. Nasiman Yagublu - Support for History and Press Studies Public Union;
33. Mr. Shahin Rajabov - “Azerbaijan Parent-Teacher Association” Public Union;
34. Mr. Aydin Abilov - “Beginner Writers and Artists” Public Union;
35. Mr. Fikrat Yusifov - “Economics” International Economic Research Association;
36. Mr. Elchin Huseynov – “Azerbaijan Writers Club” Public Union;
37. Mr. Aydin Karimov - Independent Law Center;
38. Mr. Ahmad Gashamoglu - Progress and Democracy Public Union;
39. Mr. Hafiz Hasanov – Law and Development Public Union;
40. Mr. Mirali Huseynov - “Democracy Learning” Public Union;
41. Mr. Shamsaddin Aliyev - Public Union “Support to Police”;
42. Mr. Asif Asgarli - Azerbaijan Democratic Students and Youth Organization;
43. Mr. Emin Hasanli - Demobilized Servicemen Public Union for the Youth Enlightenment;
44. Mr. Ilgar Orujov - “Azerbaijan Society of Young Scientists, Postgraduates and Masters” Public Union;
45. Mr. Ramil Isgandarli – Legal Analysis and Research Public Union.

More about: Azerbaijan   Germany   Armenia