Japan air force officer, US instructor killed in plane crash

  20 February 2021    Read: 630
Japan air force officer, US instructor killed in plane crash

A Japanese air force officer and a U.S. Air Force instructor pilot were killed in a crash in Alabama, Japan’s Air Self-Defense Force said on Saturday, AzVision.az reports citing Reuters.

The Japanese second lieutenant and the U.S. instructor crashed around 8 a.m. Japan time on Saturday (5 p.m. CST, 2300 GMT on Friday) as their T-38 was about to land at the Montgomery airport, the Japanese force said in a statement.

The lieutenant was learning maneuvering and other skills in the U.S. Air Force curriculum to become a fighter pilot, said Japanese public broadcaster NHK, citing defence ministry sources.

The statement, which did not name the two, said details of the accident are being investigated.


More about: