Turkey bans travel from 5 African countries

  27 November 2021    Read: 261
Turkey bans travel from 5 African countries

Turkey has imposed a ban on travel from five African countries after the emergence of a new coronavirus variant, Health Minister Fahrettin Koca said in a statement late Friday, News.Az reports citing Daily Sabah.

"Travel from Botswana, Republic of South Africa, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe to our country through all our land, air, sea and rail border crossings will not be allowed as of tonight," Koca said on Twitter.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has declared the new COVID-19 strain from southern Africa a "variant of concern," naming it Omicron.

The United Kingdom has also suspended flights from Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe, whereas Eyropean Union member states have agreed to introduce rapid restrictions on all travel from these countries as well as Mozambique.

Koca recently stated that Turkey does not intend to implement any further lockdowns or closures to manage the pandemic's reach, instead placing "great importance on individual precautions ... particularly vaccinations," as he answered questions from the press after the Cabinet meeting at the Presidential Complex.

Europe is on the verge of another shutdown with many countries already announcing new lockdown measures. When asked about whether new restrictions and measures were on the agenda in Turkey, Koca stated that no such steps were planned.

More about: Turkey   Africa  

News Line