15 April 2016    Read: 890
The draft law "On the establishment of a new composition of the Central Election Commission of Azerbaijan" was tabled in the plenary session of the parliament on April 15.
The ruling New Azerbaijani Party, which has a parliamentary majority, independent MPs, Ana Vatan Party, Azerbaijan Democratic Reforms Party, Azerbaijan Democratic Enlightenment Party, Azerbaijan Social Democratic Party, Great Establishment Party, Whole Azerbaijan Popular Front Party, National Revival Movement Party, Azerbaijan Social Welfare Party, Vahdat (Unity) Party, Civic Unity Party, Civil Solidarity Party, which has a parliamentary minority, submitted to the parliament the names of their candidates to the CEC membership.

The draft law included the names of Fuad Javadov, Shaitdin Aliyev, Ramiz Ibrahimov, Valide Kazimova, Huseyn Pashayev, Mezahir Panahov, Ilham Mammadov, Natig Mammadov, Arife Mukhtarova, Nizami Nadirov, Gabil Orujov, Azer Taghiyev, Bekhsheyish Asgerov, Tofig Hasanov, Almas Gahramanli, Etibar Guliyev, Mikayil Rahimov, Ilkin Shahbazaov and nominees as substitute members at the CEC - Surettin Humbatov, Behruz Guliyev, Aydin Muradov, Niyameddin Ordukhanov.

Parliament Speaker Ogtay Asadov said the CEC composition is to be renewed after the parliamentary elections in accordance to the legislature.

Chairman of the Whole Azerbaijan Popular Front Party, MP Gudrat Hasanguliyev offered the issuance of diplomatic passports to the CEC members.

Deputy executive secretary of New Azerbaijan Party (YAP), MP Siyavush Novruzov called on the MPs to vote for the draft law.

Chairman of Azerbaijani parliament`s committee on legal policy and state-building, Ali Huseynli, noted that the CEC had been formed in a professional format.

The draft law was approved.

Names of two persons - Tamam Jafarova and Akif Gurbanov, who were in 2010 composition of the CEC have been removed, Huseyn Pashayev (NAP) and Ilkin Shahbazov (Social Welfare Party) substituted them. Gurbanov was a representative of the Party of Hope in the CEC. But the Party of Hope failed to win seats in parliament in 2015.

More about: