EU nationals’ visits to occupied lands are deplorable - Azerbaijan

  02 December 2016    Read: 1280
EU nationals’ visits to occupied lands are deplorable - Azerbaijan
It is deplorable that certain nationals of some EU member states, including journalists from France, Germany, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Netherlands, Czech Republic, Poland, Italy, Great Britain, Luxemburg, Portugal and Romania travel to the Nagorno-Karabakh region and other occupied territories of Azerbaijan without prior authorization from Azerbaijan, reads a statement from the Permanent Mission of Azerbaijan to the OSCE.
The permanent mission made a statement at the December 1 meeting of the Permanent Council in response to the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, Mrs. Dunja Mijatovic.

All of them are included in the list of those whose entry to Azerbaijan is denied, says the statement.

“We reiterate that such visitors run a risk of facing appropriate legal proceedings, including in the form of administrative or criminal prosecution,” reads the statement. “States have an obligation to faithfully observe the generally accepted norms and principles of international law by taking measures that would prevent their nationals, including journalists, operating on their territories, to engage in activities that violate these norms, in particular those related to respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of other states.”

More about: