US remains committed to peaceful settlement of Karabakh conflict - Cekuta

  03 October 2017    Read: 658
US remains committed to peaceful settlement of Karabakh conflict - Cekuta
The United States, as one of the co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group, continues its activities aimed at a peaceful settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict through the rapprochement of the parties’ positions, US Ambassador to Azerbaijan Robert Cekuta told reporters on Tuesday, reports citing APA.
According to the diplomat, one of the main directions of such activities is the improvement of the situation and satisfaction of the needs of internally displaced persons.

“The US Embassy together with the Azerbaijani government will spare no effort to provide assistance to IDPs,” he said.

To date, the US government has allocated $115 million for the implementation of IDP projects, Cekuta stressed.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

More about: #Karabakh-conflict