Presidential elections officially start in Iran

  14 June 2013    Read: 314
Presidential elections officially start in Iran
The 11th presidential elections have officially started today in Iran, IRIB News reported.
The elections have begun at 8 o`clock by local time (4:30 am London time).

The people of Iran will use 66,000 polling stations across the country to cast their votes for the presidential candidates.

There are six candidates participating in the current presidential elections: Secretary of Expediency Council Mohsen Rezaei, Supreme National Security Council Secretary Saeed Jalili, former Foreign Minister Ali-Akbar Velayati, Tehran Mayor Mohammad-Baqer Qalibaf, President of the Strategic Research Center of the Expediency Council Hassan Rohani, and former Telecommunications Minister Mohammad Gharazi.

Iran`s current president Mahmoud Ahmadinejad is not participating in the election race due to constitutional laws, which permit a person to participate for presidenicy for the third straight term.

Nearly 50.5 million Iranians are eligible to vote in the upcoming presidential poll. Iranians living in other countries would be able to vote through the embassies of Iran in those countries.

The primary results of the June 14 presidential election will be announced by the Iranian Interior Ministry, and would be then approved by the Guardian Council.

Over 420 journalists from 39 countries will be covering the presidential elections in the Islamic Republic of Iran, according to country`s Public Relations and Information Center of Ministry of Culture.

Such countries as Azerbaijan, Germany, Australia, Russia, Japan, UK, UAE, France, Turkey, Iraq, Ukraine, USA, Syria, China will be covering the elections in Iran.

More about: