Brazil named as hosts of FIFA Women’s World Cup 2027

  17 May 2024    Read: 1363
Brazil named as hosts of FIFA Women’s World Cup 2027

The 10th edition of the FIFA Women's World Cup will take place in Brazil, as announced at the 74th FIFA Congress in Thailand on Friday, according to the official website of the Olympic Games.

Brazil hosted the men’s football World Cups in 1950 and 2014; now it’s time for women. This will be the first Women's World Cup to be held in South America.

Brazil beat a joint bid from the Netherlands, Belgium, and Germany to host the showpiece event.

In April, the United States and Mexico withdrew their joint bid, saying they planned to focus on their bid for 2031 instead. In November, South Africa did the same.

People's Republic of China, Sweden, the United States, Germany, Canada, and France have all also previously hosted the competition.

Since its inception in 1991, the FIFA Women's World Cup has grown in stature and popularity. With 12 teams participating in the inaugural tournament, the competition has expanded to include 32 teams, with the most recent edition held in Australia and New Zealand in 2023.

The FIFA Women's World Cup has seen five nations crowned champions, with the 2023 title going to Spain. The United States Women's National Soccer Team (USWNT) has the most victories with four titles in 1991, 1999, 2015, and 2019. Team Brazil took a bronze medal at the World Cup in 1999 and a silver medal in 2007.

Fans will hope they can go all the way to the final and win the title on home turf, with the passionate Brazilian crowd behind them.

More about: #Brazil   #FIFA  

News Line