Caspian states' FMs to gather in Moscow

  05 December 2017    Read: 487
Caspian states' FMs to gather in Moscow
The ministers of foreign affairs of the Caspian "five" - Russia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan - Sergey Lavrov, Elmar Mammadyarov, Javad Zarif, Kairat Abdrakhmanov and Rashid Meredov will discuss on Tuesday in Moscow the development of a document on the legal status of the Caspian Sea, TASS reports.
The ministerial meeting precedes the summit in this format, which may take place in early 2018. "Work in this direction is underway, now we are trying to complete certain details of this document," said Grigory Karasin, State Secretary and Deputy Foreign Minister of the Russian Federation.

Karasin noted that the Caspian Sea should become an example of cooperation against the background of "unpredictable different approaches to major international problems." "And this will give the opportunity for all five not to wait for favors from extra-regional players, not to wait for some more rapid development of the international situation, it will enable them to act independently and become an example of good, regional interaction," he added.

More about: #Caspian-Sea