Foreign ambassadors, heads of int`l organizations visit Jojug Marjanli village

  15 February 2017    Read: 1134
Foreign ambassadors, heads of int`l organizations visit Jojug Marjanli village

The State Committee for Work with Refugees and IDPs organized the visit of representatives of diplomatic corps of foreign countries accredited in Azerbaijan and heads of international organizations to liberated Jojug Marjanli village of Jabrayil district.

Heads of diplomatic missions of foreign countries and international organizations accredited in Azerbaijan are on a visit to the Jabrayil district’s Jojug Marjanli village liberated from the Armenian occupation.

The visit is led by chairman of the State Committee of Azerbaijan for Affairs of Refugees and IDPs, Deputy Prime Minister Ali Hasanov, reported.

Hasanov thoroughly informed the 55-member delegation about the village.

The deputy PM noted that Jojug Marjanli was destroyed in five months under the Armenian occupation. He said the Armenian army had for years been firing at the village from Leletepe height.

The committee chairman said the demining work has been completed in 60 percent of 10 hectares of area allocated for the construction of a new residential settlement under the presidential decree.

Hasanov pointed out that five unexploded mortar shells were found from water wells.

*** reports that the visit is organized under the instructions given by Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev at the conference, dedicated to the results of third year implementation of "The State Program on socio-economic development of the districts of the Republic of Azerbaijan in 2014-2018", held in Baku Jan. 30.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

More about: